Delaware Disabled Parking Laws For People With Disabilities
§ 4183. Parking areas for vehicles being used by persons with disabilities.
1. The “…valid special license plate issued pursuant to § 2134 of this title on the rear of the vehicle, or that displays a valid parking placard issued pursuant to § 2135 of this title on the front windshield rearview mirror of the vehicle or, if there is no mirror, on the dashboard…” does not by itself give the driver of the vehicle the right to park in a properly identified DISABLED PARKING SPOT.
2. This DELAWARE DISABLED PARKING LAW also requires “the person for whom the plate or placard is issued is either the operator or a passenger or, in the case of an organization, in which a person who is entitled to obtain a permanent or temporary placard is a passenger.”
3. THE COST/FINE: “Any costs of removal and storage must be borne by the owner or operator of the vehicle…” plus “…a mandatory fine of $100 for a first offense, and for a subsequent like offense, a mandatory fine of $200 or a term of imprisonment of not less than 10 nor more than 30 days, or both…”
It is not unusual to see a Delaware motorist who is obviously not DISABLED hop out of a vehicle parked in a reserved DISABLED PARKING spot and scurry into the shopping complex. Not only does Delaware Law prohibit such obnoxious behavior, but one would assume common decency would also prevail. Unfortunately, that is not always the case.