Zero Tolerance DUI Laws In Delaware
CHAPTER 41. RULES OF THE ROAD
Subchapter IX. 4177L. Driving by persons under the age of 21 after consumption of alcohol; penalties.
(a) Whoever, being under the age of 21 years, drives, operates or has actual physical control of a vehicle, an off-highway vehicle or a moped while consuming or after having consumed alcoholic liquor shall have that person’s driver’s license and/or privileges revoked for a period of 2 months for the first offense and not less than 6 months nor more than 12 months for each subsequent offense. If the underage person does not have a driver’s license and/or privileges, the person shall be fined $200 for the first offense and not less than $400 nor more than $1,000 for each subsequent offense.
Delaware Drivers Manual
Underage Consumption Or Possession
Anyone under the age of 21 years who has alcoholic liquor in his/her possession or consumes alcoholic liquor, may have his/her Delaware driver license revoked for a period of 30 days for the first offense and not less than 90 days nor more than 180 days for each subsequent offense.
“The D Team” ten (10) point DUI summary:
1. .08 BAC by the operator of a motor vehicle is ABSOLUTE evidence of DUI.
2. Any combination of ILLEGAL DRUGS and ALCOHOL by the operator of a motor vehicle is considered a DUI offense.
3. The presence of any amount of ILLEGAL DRUGS in the operator of a motor vehicle is considered DUI.
4. POSSESSION of ALCOHOL and/or ILLEGAL DRUGS by an individual under the age of 21 (ZERO TOLERANCE LAW) can result in the loss of driving privileges even if that individual is not operating a motor vehicle.
5. The only thing that will REDUCE an individual’s BAC level is TIME.
6. If a driver REFUSES CHEMICAL TESTING (BAC), his or her license may be REVOKED.
7. In addition to hindering REACTION TIME, alcohol will also interfere with JUDGMENT (decision making – when enough is enough).
8. If you are fortunate enough to not have an ACCIDENT while driving DUI, your WALLET can still face a substantial reduction.
9. Currently the State of Delaware DOES NOT HAVE AN OPEN CONTAINER LAW (alcohol), however, individual municipalities may have such a law. Check our website (www.dedriving.com) for any updates on an open container State of Delaware Law.
10. If a driver REFUSES to submit to a BAC test designated by a police officer, REASONABLE STEPS CAN BE TAKEN to conduct the test without the person’s consent.