Driving Distractions in Delaware

Motor Vehicles
Operation and Equipment

§ 4176. Careless or inattentive driving.
(a) Whoever operates a vehicle in a careless or imprudent manner, or without due regard for road, weather and traffic conditions then existing, shall be guilty of careless driving.
(b) Whoever operates a vehicle and who fails to give full time and attention to the operation of the vehicle, or whoever fails to maintain a proper lookout while operating the vehicle, shall be guilty of inattentive driving.
(c) Whoever violates this section shall for the first offense be fined not less than $25 nor more than $115. For each subsequent like offense occurring within 3 years of a former offense, the person shall be fined not less than $50 nor more than $230, or imprisoned not less than 10 nor more than 30 days, or both.

IMPORTANT: As you proceed through the DISTRACTION portion of the course, please keep in mind there is little if any difference between DISTRACTIONS and INATTENTIVE DRIVING.

Best case scenario: Please realize it is the POLICE OFFICER who will make the decision whether your DISTRACTION is in fact – INATTENTIVE DRIVING.

Worst-case scenario: Any of the DISTRACTIONS below can lead to becoming a roadway statistic:

Delaware Defensive Driving Course